Skip to main content

Schedule

A lot of balloons at SmashingConf SF 2019.

You probably know the drill: 2 days, 1 single track, 10 speakers.

Both days start at 10 AM PDT (check your time), and we’ll finish around 4 PM on both days. Join us for talks, interactive sessions, followed up with a time for Q&As and discussion zones. Ah, and the best bit: on both days you can play an active role — interacting with speakers and other attendees.

Looking forward to meet you!

Want to stay updated on the latest speakers and talk topics, why not follow us on Twitter?

Our speakers rarely show slides: they show how they work — their setup, techniques and shortcuts for getting work done in live interactive sessions. So expect everything from refactoring and debugging to sketching and redesign, live.

Vitaly, the one who loves ironing, front-end, UX and has tons of crazy ideas.
Vitaly

Conference Tuesday, 10th | Conference Wednesday, 11th

Tuesday, 10th – Conference

9:00 AM

Doors Open

10:00 AM

Welcome

10:10 AM

Better Communication, Better Design

Design is a medium for communication, and to do it well, we must cultivate our own communication skills. Within design teams, we do our best work when we create a culture of feedback shaped by our creative space and our design review process. Beyond the design tribe, our work thrives when it’s communicated in language that aligns to the goals of the business and invites participation early and often.

In this presentation, Aarron will share the experiences of real design teams at Apple, Spotify, and other organizations to show how to improve the communication of design both inside your team and with key outside stakeholders. You’ll see how to run effective design reviews and retrospectives which will help you create a culture of feedback that produces better work, helps designers sharpen their skills, and communicates the value of design by making it more transparent and inviting.

11:10 AM

React

12:10 PM

Users Don’t Care Who Wrote It

Achieving a unified voice and content strategy on fragmented teams. (And tips for bringing them together.)

Disciplines split across teams, departments, and surface areas can create all kinds of swirl and confusion, particularly for content strategy teams looking to deliver a cohesive voice and structure to users. In this fragmented world, how do you set standards and develop systems? How do you make decisions? Who’s responsible for governance? How do you disseminate information that won’t get lost in a flood of decks and docs? How do you bring the discipline together? And how do you make sure users never know the difference?

1:10 PM

Lunch Break

🥗 Let's have lunch, while enjoying DJ Tobi's tunes. What are you going to have?
Have you found the Smashing Members stand already?

1:55 PM

Storytelling: The Secret Weapon for Brands

The New York Times is the most innovative storyteller in the world, famous for turning complex subjects into digestible narratives with its unique brand of storytelling. It's in-house brand studio is responsible for applying these techniques to branded content in a way that's creative, visceral and keeps the audience engaged.

As former Creative Director of the studio, I'll go through some of the greatest success stories in recent years and some of the design and storytelling methods we utilise to bring these stories to life.

3:55 PM

AR/VR

Coming soon!

3:45 PM

After Party

Don't leave us yet, we'll be hosting a little party! Join us for a little quiz, live DJ performance, silly dance moves, and design & coding challenges.

Wednesday, 11th – Conference

Timings Around The World

  • CityTime
  • San Francisco, USA 🇺🇸10AM–4PM
  • New York, USA 🇺🇸1PM–7PM
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil 🇧🇷2PM–8PM
  • London, UK 🇬🇧6PM–12AM
  • CityTime
  • Antwerp, Belgium 🍫7PM–1AM
  • Kyiv, Ukraine 🇺🇦8PM–2AM
  • Mumbai, India 🇮🇳10:30PM–4:30AM
  • Singapore, Singapore 🇸🇬1AM–7AM

Our Global Partners

  • Mozilla
  • Netlify
  • Shopify
  • Microsoft Edge

Our San Francisco 2020 Partners

  • Coil Technologies Inc.
  • HP
  • Corvid by Wix
  • Service Now
  • Gatsby
  • Locastic